Fire Safety

I was drafting a post for Thursday’s kids when the adapter to my laptop finally decided it was done being abused and made it impossible to do anything without contorting myself into impossible acrobatic positions to keep my battery charged long enough that I could write. So unfortunately for now the progress I made on that was lost, but since my girlfriend’s laptop is here I decided to use it.

I’m having a difficult time with the fire element because there isn’t as much information floating freely around about fire. I am kind of deterred by this particular element. It is kind of scary to me. So I’m going to post a video about what to do if your home catches on fire. It’s a kid’s video so they will be able to learn from it. And let’s be honest, it’s the first one I found and I watched it all the way through so…you can too. Haha.

This is more for adults and anybody else who is rusty in their fire safety knowledge.

 

In case you don’t want to watch the videos, here are the most important things to remember:

  • If your house is on fire is to make sure you know a safe route out.
  • Check your doorknob for heat before slowly opening it to make sure there is no fire near you keeping you from escaping.
  • If the doorknob’s hot or there is smoke close the door as fast as you can.
  • Put a wet towel over your mouth and nose to help keep you from inhaling dirty air.
  • Keep low to the ground because heat and smoke rise and you are safer there.
  • NEVER use water to put out an oil fire.
  • Leave the pot or pan of oil where it is, do not pick it up or you will get injured or trail burning oil and fire behind you.
  • Smother oil fires with wet towels, a pot lid, or baking soda.
  • If you use a pot lid make sure it is air tight because otherwise it will cause more fire.
  • If you use baking soda, make sure you cover every inch of the flames with it.
  • Never hide because firefighters will be on the lookout for you.
  • Change batteries in smoke alarms every 6 months.

Those are the most important tips if you’re having an issue with fire. If you are trapped in a room, yell out the window for help and keep low to the ground with any type of cloth over your face. Once you’re out of the house, don’t go back in because firefighters will be there to do their job for you. They have protective gear so you don’t have to worry about getting injured.

I hope this post helps! It’s always good to stay sharp on these things! Especially if you are rusty. Stay safe, everybody!

About ammbassett

Hey everybody! You can call me A. I'm the creator of the blog "Upgrade Earth," and I hope to help inspire you into personally engineering the future of the planet we call home! Humanity is due for an upgrade and I think we're just the people to do it, so let's get started today!
This entry was posted in Week 2 - Water. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

